The Babel Masks launches!

The virtual exhibition THE BABEL MASKS opened on October 26, 2020, and features one of my masks!

An acquaintance posted about the call for submissions in July, and after reading the prospectus, I had a funky feeling that I was supposed to make a mask and submit it to the show.  I used all materials that I had on-hand, I am caring for elderly parents and I isolate so that I can be with them more safely.  The mask base is a stretch denim, with a cotton lining, and then all the decoration is built up on the denim.  The base mask was machine sewn, using a 1940s Singer Featherweight that I inherited from my German-Jewish paternal grandmother.  All the embellishment was hand-sewn.

Here are some behind-the-scenes pictures from the mask crafting.

I haven't taken part in an art show, let alone a juried one, in about twenty years, and I'm very pleased to have "Blood On Their Faces" accepted for display.

https://www.babelmasks.com/